Researchers identified 85 adware in the App Store and Play Store

Security researchers have recently identified 85 adwares in the App Store and Play Store, which have been downloaded a total of 13 million times by users of these two platforms.

BingMag.com Researchers identified 85 adware in the App Store and Play Store

Security researchers have recently identified 85 adwares in the App Store and Play Store, which have been downloaded a total of 13 million times by users of these two platforms.

According to the Bleeping Computer news site, the security team of Satori Threat Intelligence has recently identified 85 applications, or rather advertising malware, among which 10 were in the App Store and 75 were in the Play Store. And in total, they have been downloaded 13 million times. These apps flood users' phones with ads, whether hidden or visible.

As it turns out, these apps are part of an ad fraud campaign called Scylla, which analysts believe Apparently, the third wave is the operation that was first identified as Poseidon in August 2019. The second wave of this operation, named Charybdis, reached its peak in late 2020.

As soon as the Satori team identified these apps, they informed both Google and Apple about their existence, and now these apps are removed from the store. Google Play and App Store have been deleted. If you have intentionally or accidentally installed one of these apps in your phone, but the Play Protect option is active (in Android), these apps will be automatically detected and you will be reported about them.

If you have installed one of these apps in your device, delete them as soon as possible because they may cause many problems with the phone over time. These apps on iOS are:

  • Loot the Castle com.loot.rcastle.fight.battle (id1602634568)
  • Run Bridge com.run.bridge.race (id1584737005)
  • Shinning Gun com.shinning.gun.ios (id1588037078)
  • Racing Legend 3D com.racing.legend.like (id1589579456)
  • Rope Runner com.rope.runner.family (id1614987707)
  • Wood Sculptor com.wood.sculptor.cutter (id1603211466)
  • Fire-Wall com.fire.wall .poptit (id1540542924)
  • Ninja Critical Hit wger.ninjacriticalhit.ios (id1514055403)
  • Tony Runs com.TonyRuns.game

A series of ad fraud apps in the App Store include the following:

  • Super Hero-Save the world! com.asuper.man.playmilk
  • Spot 10 Differences com.different.ten.spotgames
  • Find 5 Differences com.find.five.subtle.differences.spot.new
  • Dinosaur Legend com.huluwagames.dinosaur.legend.play
  • One Line Drawing com.one.line.drawing.stroke.yuxi
  • Shoot Master com.shooter.master.bullet.puzzle.huahong
  • Talent Trap NEW com.talent.trap.stop.all

Note the number of scam apps Advertisements in the App Store reach 75, whose exact names are given in the Satori security team's report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *