Home > Books and literature > Books
Reading time estimate: 7 min

Books like water for chocolate; A magical love story in the heart of the kitchen

BingMag.com Books like water for chocolate; A magical love story in the heart of the kitchen

It is enjoyable and fascinating to read a realistic book that can be used to communicate with its characters while reading. The book "Like Water for Chocolate" allows you to connect deeply with the characters while allowing your imagination and emotions to let go and fly. By reading this book, you will smell the aroma of Mexican food and at the same time enjoy the romantic story and drama of the characters.

The book "Like Water for Chocolate" takes place during the Mexican Revolution and focuses mainly on the lives of women of that time. . In fact, the story of "Like Water for Chocolate" combines magical realism with food sensibility to tell the tragic-comic story of Tita della Garza; A farmer girl who has amazing cooking skills. Although there are countless examples of male violence in the novel, the main theme of the story is the violence between Mama Elena and Tita. It is very prominent in communities and in their personal relationships. Violence that is transmitted from society to mother and from mother to daughter, enslaving girls to the traditions of society.

The book "Like Water for Chocolate" reminds you of the complex story of Romeo and Juliet. In fact, this book is a drama story that can be read and enjoyed over and over again.

In the continuation of this article, we have introduced the best-selling and extraordinary book of the book "Like Water for Chocolate":

Biography of Laura Squiol BingMag.com Books like water for chocolate; A magical love story in the heart of the kitchen

Laura Squiol Politician, novelist and screenwriter, September 30, 1950 in He was born in Mexico City. Squill is a woman who spends most of her time teaching, writing children's plays and screenplays. Squiol began writing while working as a kindergarten teacher. He wrote plays for his students and then wrote children's television programs in the 1970s and 1980s.

Squill uses magical realism in his novels, a combination of the supernatural and the real world. He often explores the relationship between Mexican men and women in his work.

He made his first major international breakthrough with his first novel, Like Water for Chocolate. His second novel, The Law of Love (1996), was a combination of text, visual art, and music, and soon became Squiol's second best-selling book. His other works include Mastan Samimi (1998), The Little Sailor (1999), Emotions (2000), Arezoo (2001) and Malinche (2006). She lives in Mexico City with her husband and children.

About the book Like Water for Chocolate BingMag.com Books like water for chocolate; A magical love story in the heart of the kitchen

The popular book "Like Water for Chocolate" was first published in 1989 in Spanish. Squill wrote a fascinating and innovative novel, and his unparalleled ability to write in a classic love story. The English translation of this book was published worldwide in 1992 and quickly became one of the best-selling books. The book has sold more than 4.5 million copies and has been translated into 30 living languages since its publication.

"Like Water for Chocolate" is a shocking love story that combines moments Bitter and sweet, magic and emotion impress the reader. Squiol mischievously uses magical realism techniques to show the connection of the main character of "Tita de la Garza" to food emotionally, instinctively and often surprisingly.

"Like Water for Chocolate" is generally The women of the de la Garza family are concentrated. Mama Elena, as one of the main characters in the story, has been the head of the family since the death of her husband. In fact, all the main characters in the story are women: women who obey other women, learn from other women and help each other. In "Like Water for Chocolate", the author considers the kitchen to be the most important place in the house. The book is divided into 12 sections, each chapter based on the months of the year, starting in January and ending in December. Each chapter of the book begins with Squill's fascinating interpretation of a traditional Mexican cooking method; Not surprisingly, much of this exquisite and best-selling novel revolves around the kitchen. The ingredients in the recipes seem incredible, and the result is amazing meals.

The book "Like Water for Chocolate" takes place during the Mexican Revolution, challenging social and political systems and an opportunity. Creates for people to question existing values and structures. In fact, during the Mexican Civil War, society was very patriarchal, and this book shows how war has moved most countries from patriarchy to patriarchy.

This love story takes place on beautiful farms; In the last days of her pregnancy, Mama Elena is chopping onions on the kitchen table when her daughter Tita cries loudly while she is still in her womb, causing her to give birth prematurely. Tita is the youngest child in the family. Little Tita is born among spices, pickles and superfoods in the kitchen. She spends most of her childhood there with Nacha, a kind cook and maid, and considers Nacha her real mother.

Tita's initial encounter with food soon became a way of life. As she grows up, she becomes a skilled chef, using cooking to express her feelings and sharing recipes with readers along the way.

There is a tradition in the Tita family that a girl The little one should not get married and should take care of his parents in old age. His mother, Mama Elena, is a psychotic, strict, bad-mouthed, tyrannical, and borderline personality disorder who selfishly wants to keep Tita as a slave.

The story becomes complicated when Tita falls in love. Pedro Mosquis. Upon learning of this, his mother quickly prevented them from continuing their relationship and arbitrarily ordered that Tita's sister "Rosura" should marry Pedro instead.

For Tita, there was nothing left but cooking. The kitchen feels like the most powerful and free creature in the world and is safe from Mama Elena's threats. In fact, Tita is not upset that she is being given a job as a maid, on the contrary, she is happy that she has a place of her own, where the tastes, smells, compositions and effects she can have were far beyond Mama Elena's orders.

Tita has magical powers that If he has a special feeling when preparing that food, he adds his feelings to his food. People who eat her feel the same strong feeling, whether it is lust, anger, sadness or happiness.

In fact, Tita has no control over this power and is only aware of it, and this causes He and his family members face many complex situations. The pain of Tita's forbidden love causes her to strengthen her magical power to convey her feelings through cooking. A party that eats a piece of this cake gets very sick and vomits. Later, Pedro and Rosura have a son named Roberto. Rosura is unable to nurse Roberto, so Tita takes care of him. This brings Tita and Pedro even closer together.

The theme of the novel is that expressing inner feelings and honesty is very important and opens the way to true love and happiness. In contrast, repression of emotions leads to illness and darkness. In fact, the happiest and most lovable characters are those who have found true love and fought for it.

Finally, love is the key word in this book in the final chapter. Tita and Pedro can finally be together and do not need to hide their love.

From this book, a film directed by Alfonso Arao was made and its adaptation became one of the best-selling foreign films in the United States. The film also won several awards, including ten Ariel Awards. There are various adaptations of this book in Iran, one of which is a theater directed by Ebrahim Posht Koohi.

In a part of the book "Like water for chocolate" we read:

" Tita looked around the yard as she shook the dust off her head and body: there were no chickens left. Most of the old ones were worried that he had embroidered them with love, new ones should have been made immediately, but it had nothing to do with him - had not Rosora told him that he did not want to see her around Esperanza? Let Rosura do her own thing and let Tita do her own thing. At the moment, his job was to prepare dinner for John and Aunt Marie.

He went to the kitchen to arrange the beans, but to his surprise he saw that the beans were still not cooked, even though they had been on the fire for hours. So strange things were happening, remembering NAJA saying that when Tom Ellis is overhead, if people around him fight, Tamalis will not cook, he may cook for several days, but he still remains uncooked, because the seeds They are angry.

In such cases, they should be sung and their hearts rejoiced so that their sorrows may be relieved. Then they will cook, Tita thinks the same thing happened to beans. Because the league witnessed his fight with Rosora. So he had to make the beans sweet, he had to sing a song full of love and affection for them: he didn't have that much time. The food of his guests had to be served.

Buy a book like water for chocolate from BingMag

READ NEXT IN: books and literature / books

BingMag.com Introducing 7 books whose main characters are animals books

Books allow us to experience a feeling that has never happened to us before. Each book is a mirror of the narrative that helps you see and feel it from the characters' point of view. They pay. In some

BingMag.com Introducing 6 best-selling German novels that will surprise you books

Germany is the land of thinkers and writers who have created some of the world's best works. Although the country did not continue to be present in the literary scene until the 18th century with weigh

BingMag.com 5 Key Rules for Writing a Professional Email (Creative Writing Workshop 8) books

Manual letter writing these days is considered more of an obsolete communication method than a common communication channel. The truth is that most text messages these days are being moved between peo

BingMag.com A book by a girl with seven names; Another decipherment of North Korean secrets books

The book "A Girl with Seven Names" written by Korean author Hyunsun Lee has been published by Kolepshti and Atisa. The book "Backpack Publishing" has been translated by Elahe Alavi and Ghazaleh Sabzia